Colchester voters aligned with statewide totals on Tuesday night, crossing party lines and keeping incumbents in their seats for both the governor and lieutenant governor positions in Montpelier.

For governor, local voters chose incumbent Phil Scott who got 4,202 votes, while Democrat Christine Hallquist fell far behind with only 2,289 votes. Third party candidates received a total of 184 votes.

In the lieutenant governor race, Colchester chose incumbent Progressive/Democrat David Zuckerman with 3,552 votes. Republican Don Turner was not too far behind, receiving 3,042 votes.

In the Chittenden 9-1 district, voters remained blue, re-electing incumbent Curt Taylor with 1,664 votes and Seth Chase with 1,309 votes to the Vt. House of Representatives. Chase will take the place of the late Jim Condon in Montpelier. Republicans Deserae Morin and Clark Sweeney netted 971 and 806 votes each, respectively.

In the Chittenden 9-2 district, voters crossed party lines, re-electing Republican incumbent Patrick Brennan with 1,842 votes and picking Democrat Sarita Austin with 1,741 votes to join him.

Democrat Herb Downing and Republican Pam Loranger were not far behind with 1,496 and 1,465 votes, respectively. Loranger was initially a write-in candidate in the August primary and won the spot to campaign for the general election after a run-off election against John Nagle III.

Incumbent state Sen. Dick Mazza ran unopposed and received 5,680 votes.


On the national stage, Colchester continued to align its votes with the majority of Vermonters, choosing Independent Bernie Sanders to resume his post as U.S. senator with 4,378 votes. The Associated Press called his race just minutes after polling stations closed. Republican Lawrence Zupan followed in second with 2,018 votes.

For U.S. Representative to Congress, Colchester went along with the state in choosing incumbent Peter Welch, a Democrat, with 4,600 votes. Republican Anya Tynio fell far behind with 1,839 votes.

Colchester voters picked Democrat Beth Pearce for treasurer with 4,287 votes over Republican Richard Morton, who received 2,163 votes.

Incumbent Democrat Jim Condos held on to his post as secretary of state with Colchester voters giving him 4,539 votes over Republican challenger H. Brooke Paige’s 1,872.

Colchester voters also chose Democrat Doug Hoffer for state auditor with 3,918 votes. Republican Richard Kenyon earned 2,174 votes and Marina Brown, a Liberty Union candidate, received 213 votes.

T.J. Donovan, Democratic incumbent, was also chosen by Colchester voters for the attorney general position, garnering 4,800 votes to Republican Janssen Willhoit’s 1,618.

Democrat Gregory J. Glennon earned 3,531 of Colchester’s votes for probate judge over Republican William Norful, who got 2,704 votes.

For assistant judge, Democrats Suzanne Brown and Connie Cain Ramsey were chosen by Colchester voters with 3,573 and 2,759 votes, respectively. Republican Charles Delaney came in a close third with 2,078 votes, and Progressive Zachary York earned only 770 of the town’s votes.

Colchester voters also chose 15 candidates for justice of the peace.

Those with the top votes were Sarita Austin (2,816), Carolyn Barnes (2,706), Leora Black (2,451), Ruth Blauwiekel (2,260), Mary Brennan (2,252), Patrick Brennan (2,708), Maureen P. Dakin (2,981), Peg Gillard (2,642), Julie Hulbard (2,403), Lisa Liotta (2,325), Pam Loranger (2,266), Marie-Reine Pepin (2,557), Jeff Spengler (2,447), Kristy Spengler (2,778) and Curt Taylor (2,907).

The offices of state’s attorney, sheriff and high bailiff were all unopposed races. Sarah George earned 2,361 votes for state’s attorney, Kevin McLaughlin received 5,616 votes for sheriff and Colchester resident Daniel Gamelin received 5,589 votes for high bailiff.

Colchester residents voted by an overwhelming majority with 5,215 yes votes to 867 no on the one ballot item to allow Colchester School District to convey an 8-foot strip of land to the town to create a center-turn lane onto Laker Lane in the near future.

Normally, the school board could simply vote to give the easement to the town. But back in 1971, the land was incorrectly surveyed, superintendent Amy Minor said. The school claims the land through “adverse possession” – squatters’ rights, essentially – because it wasn’t included in the 1972 deed from George Crocker and Woodland Cottages.

With the conveyance now secured, the project will begin this summer, according to public works director Bryan Osborne. Federal transportation dollars will fund its estimated $500,000 price tag, he said. The project is part of the circ-alternative plan developed by the town after former Gov. Peter Shumlin decided to forgo the circumferential highway project.

According to Minor, the center lane addition will save folks time by easing the flow of traffic near Colchester High school at peak hours.

Voter turnout for Colchester was not available at press time.

*Bold denotes top vote-getters

Folasade Adeluola (I), 32
Russell Beste (I), 99
Bruce Busa (I), 11
Edward S. Gilbert JR (I), 28
Reid Kane (LU), 14
Brad J. Peacock (I), 49
Bernie Sanders (I), 4,378
Jon Svitavsky (I), 15
Lawrence Zupan (R), 2,018

Cris Ericson (I), 148
Laura S. Potter (LU), 64
Anya Tynio (R), 1,839
Peter Welch (D), 4,600

Trevor Barlow (I), 51
Cris Ericson (I), 30
Christine Hallquist (D), 2,289
Charles Laramie (I), 27
Stephen Marx (Earth Rights), 39
Emily “Em” Peyton (LU), 37
Phil Scott (R), 4,202

Murray Ngoima (LU), 59
Don Turner JR (R), 3,042
David Zuckerman (D/P), 3,552

Richard “Dick” Mazza (D/R), 5,680

Seth Chase (D), 1,309
Deserae Morin (R), 971
Clark Sweeney (R), 806
Curt Taylor (D), 1,664

Sarita Austin (D), 1,741
Patrick Brennan (R), 1,842
Herb Downing (D), 1,496
Pam Loranger (R), 1,465

Gregory J. Glennon (D), 3,531
William “Bill” Norful (R), 2,704

Suzanne Brown (D), 3,573
Charles Delaney (P/R), 2,078
Connie Cain Ramsey (D), 2,759
Zachary York (P), 770

Kevin M. McLaughlin (D/R), 5,616

Beth Pearce (D), 4,287
Richard Morton (R), 2,163

Jim Condos (D), 4,539
Mary Alice Hebert (LU), 145
H. Brooke Paige (R), 1,872

Marina Brown (LU), 213
Doug Hoffer (D/P), 3,918
Richard Kenyon (R), 2,174

T.J. Donovan (D), 4,800
Rosemarie Jackowski (LU), 154
Janssen Willhoit (R), 1,613

Sarah George (D/R), 2,361

Daniel L. Gamelin (D/R), 5,589

Sarita Austin (D), 2,816
Carolyn Barnes (D), 2,706
Leora Black (D), 2,451
Ruth “DR Ruth” Blauwiekel (D), 2,260
Cheryl Bouchard (R), 1,951
Bob Bouchard (R), 1,984
Mary Brennan (R), 2,252
Patrick Brennan (R), 2,708
Maureen P. Dakin (D), 2,981
Charlotte Gardner (R), 2,112
Peg Gillard (D), 2,642
Eleni Goranites (D), 2,036
Robert Henneberger (D), 1,979
Julie Hulbard (D), 2,403
Howard L. Kalter (R), 1,407
Jace Laquerre (R), 1,426
Lisa Liotta (D), 2,325
Pam Loranger (R), 2,266
Deserae Morin (R), 1,962
Jay T. O’Brien (R), 1,488
Marie-Reine Pepin (D), 2,557
Donald Sargent (D), 2,168
Jeff Spengler (D), 2,447
Kristy Spengler (D), 2,778
Rachel Stringer (R), 1,516
Curt Taylor (D), 2,907
Casie Relyea-Winton (R), 1,379
Jamie Winton (R), 1,459
Gary L. Zeno (R), 1,642

Laker Lane Easement
YES: 5,215
NO: 867

For a full list of official results, visit the Secretary of State’s website at